“Special Occasion”

Today, I went to my storage shed to look for my tape recorder so that I could record the Tapping World Summit that started today.  While I was very delighted to easily find that which I was seeking, I was almost as equally disappointed that several of my other boxes had been invaded by mice, who taste-tested just about everything they could find in each box that they explored!  They ravished my shoe box, and showed preference for the black and white leather pumps, where they ate almost half of each shoe!  All the other shoes, including the beautiful midnight-blue suede shoes, apparently, were not as tasty, so they just took little bites of the toe, or heel, sometimes the strap, just enough to let you know that you would NEVER where those shoes again!  They also really enjoyed my box of toiletries!  I could not believe it when I saw how they ate through containers of lotions, body splashes and soaps, like they were the “Entre du Jour”!  They even ate things that I had not used yet!!!!….The nerve of those critters!!!…  And after I huffed and puffed emotionally for a few minutes, a familiar voice chided me…”Well, Annie, instead of “saving” all your nice “smell-good” toiletries for “special occasions”, you should have been using them DAILY, because “every moment of EVERYDAY is a “special occasion”!

As I write this, I’m reminded of my Mother, who had many brand new dresses and outfits in her closet with the store tags still on them.  I remember asking her, as a teenager, why she never wore any of her new outfits, and she said, “I’m saving them for a special occasion“.  It made perfectly good snese to me then, so I didn’t protest.  I was an art student in Chicago when my mother transitioned into her next stage of life, and during the viewing of her body at the funeral home, I was saddened to finally see her in one of those brand new dresses that had been hanging in her closet for so many years. 

…Treat yourself, don’t cheat yourself! …and fully enjoy and savor each and every moment, for they are all “Special Occasions”!

Much Love and Peace to all of you and your families!

Leave a Reply

