U.S. Senator Dianne Feinstein responding to your message

It took her a long time to respond, but I was happy to receive this today from Senator Feinstein.

Love, Peace and Health,

Annie


From: senator@feinstein.senate.gov
To: annie_pierce@hotmail.com
Subject: U.S. Senator Dianne Feinstein responding to your message
Date: Thu, 15 Mar 2012 19:57:33 -0400

 

Dear Ms. Pierce:

 

Thank you for writing to me to express your concern regarding genetically-modified foods.  I appreciate hearing from you and welcome the opportunity to respond.

 

Advances in biotechnology and genetic engineering have given growers and researchers the ability to alter the genetic makeup of plants and animals in ways not previously possible.  As you know, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) is required to regulate genetically-modified foods and food ingredients to the same extent as other food products.  In addition, the FDA requires the labeling of foods containing new genetic material that is likely to provoke an allergic reaction.

 

On March 21, 2012, I along with 45 of my colleagues in Congress wrote the FDA calling for the protection of consumers by requiring the labeling of genetically engineered foods.  The basic information on labels will empower consumers to choose for themselves whether to purchase GE foods. 

  

Additionally, on December 2, 2011, Representative Dennis J. Kucinich (D-OH) introduced the “Genetically Engineered Food Right to Know Act” (H.R. 3553), which would require the labeling of products that contain genetically-modified ingredients according to specific guidelines.  Companion legislation has not been introduced in the Senate.  Please know that I have noted your support for this bill and will keep it in mind should the Senate consider this or related legislation in the future.

 
 

Once again, I appreciate hearing from you.  I hope you will continue to keep me informed on issues of importance to you.  If you have any additional questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact my Washington, D.C. office at (202) 224-3841.

Sincerely yours,

  Dianne Feinstein
         United States Senator
Further information about my position on issues of concern to California and the nation are available at my website, Feinstein.senate.gov.  You can also receive electronic e-mail updates by subscribing to my e-mail list. Click here to sign up.  And please visit my YouTube, Facebook and Twitter for more ways to communicate with me.

Leave a Reply

